Beer of the moment: La Sirene Wild Saison

La Sirene Saison

I’ve become a little obsessed with ‘farm ales’ as of late. Particularly saisons. Something about the romance of them being produced in a barn by methods passed down from generation to generation really appeals to my inner hipster. The fact that the modern day saisons are rarely produced anything like their forefather counterparts does nothing to destroy this romanticism for me.

For those who don’t know what a saison is, it is a style of beer originating out of Western Europe. The uniqueness of saisons stems from the flavour driven yeast they use which performs well in temperatures its other yeastie brothers would turn their nose up at. I have heard of saisons being fermented in the mid 30’s and still coming out amazing.

If you have no temperature control and live in Queensland, this is the beer for you.

La Sirene is a Melbourne Brewery that has exploded onto the craft beer scene lately. Their Praline Belgian Chocolate Ale has won a ton of awards and was named number 5 in the 2014 Local Taphouse Hottest 100 Beers.

The Wild Saison I had was literally exploding with carbonation due to the healthy addition of Brettanomyces yeast. The initial funk of this beer can be overwhelming for those not used to dabbling in the sour category but the funkiness quickly dies down and creates a pleasant complexity to the beer.

With a straw like cloudy colour I got hints of lemon, sherbert and the classic saison ‘barnyard’. As a city dweller, I don’t truly know what a barnyard smells like but I have come to describe saison in that manner because all the trendy hipsters do.

What I can say is this beer is quite approachable for someone who hasn’t yet caught the sour bug. It’s got a level of complexity which makes it enjoyable whilst at the same time allows you to drink a bit of it. I only bought the one but I really wouldn’t object to going back for more.

Too big for my next order?

Too big for my next order?

I gave it 3.5 stars on untappd and in hindsight, would even consider bumping that up to 4 stars. Check it out.

On the topic of untappd, if you have an account, add me @benbrett1- because we all know internet friends are the best kind of friends.

Leave a Reply

