The ‘How to All Grain Homebrew Series’: #7 Kegging

Kegerator

If you’re a keen observer of this blog, you may have noticed in my ‘How to All Grain Homebrew Series: #6 Bottling’ I mentioned this was the last of the posts. I’ve had some people ask me about kegging and thought it may be a great opportunity to give an introduction into how to keg your beer.

One thing I should note is that setting up a keg system can be quite complex and I will likely go into this in detail in another post. For the purpose of this post, I will assume you have a ready made kegerator set up and run through my basic process for kegging and carbonating my brews.

The first thing is getting your beer out of the fermenter and into the keg. As always, sanitation is key and it is important to make sure everything you use has been sprayed down with StarSan (no-rinse sanitiser). Before putting beer in your keg, it is good practice to put a blanket of C02 on the bottom of it. This will assist to minimise oxygen pick up in the transfer. I’ll then elevate my cold crashed fermenter, attach a hose which goes to the bottom of the keg and release.

Once full, I will connect my keg to the C02 and use the force to tightly seal the keg, closing the top. I’ll then ‘bleed’ off all the oxygen in quick sharp bursts. Supposedly oxygen is lighter than C02 so will come out before the C02.

IMG_1761

There are a million different ways to carbonate your beer and I will discuss this in a later post. I will generally just hook up the C02 and let it sit for a week. This ensures consistent carbonation and helps to avoid over carbonating your beers. One thing I will note is you should keep a bottle of Starsan lying around so you can spray all the connections and ensure there are no gas leaks. I lost a bottle of C02 before I figured out that handy tip.

Once again, this is a very high level overview of the kegging process. In future posts, I’ll go into further detail about the different keg setups possible and the different ways to carbonate your beer.

As always if you have any question, don’t be afraid to leave them below. If you’re thinking them, likely many people are.

 

Leave a Reply

